Madison Technical Advisory Group (MTAG)


To provide active leadership, guidance, and decision support in fulfilling the mission of this University with a focus on implementing the IT Strategic Plan and the overall efficiency and effectiveness of campus IT operations.

Meeting structure

  • Semi-annually: executive team
  • Quarterly: all members
  • Monthly: Members and others interested in topics for that particular month


Executive team: Set priorities for MTAG activities, communicate with MTAG members, and disseminate information to campus.

Membership: Attend and participate in meetings, collaborate with other MTAG members, communicate with IT staff members in their organizations, and more.

Typical Meeting Agenda Items

  • Updates from CIO
  • Updates from campus work teams
  • Major project updates
  • Reports of campus projects (federated and local)
  • Brainstorming on potential solutions and projects
  • Discussions of campus recommendations
  • Setting priorities for IT activities
  • Discussions concerning procurements
  • Discussions concerning open source vs. vendor-supplied solutions

Meeting minutes and handouts

Agendas and Minutes for 2015 are available on the Web for informational purposes. Official MTAG Agendas, Attachments and Minutes are kept by the MTAG Chair. All effort has been made to have the Web MTAG information reflect the official MTAG Agendas and Minutes. For MTAG meeting documents prior to 2015, contact Angela Stephens in the CIO office.



Name Department
Phillip Barak Agricultural and Life Sciences
Nicholas Tincher Office of the VC for Research and Graduate Education
Meloney Linder Business (Chair)
Alan Ng Continuing Studies
Brenda Spychalla Education
Rob Kohlhepp Engineering
Eric Giefer (Vice Chair) Law
John Hilgers Human Ecology
Derek Tessman International Studies & Programs
David Towers Medicine & Public Health
Bruno Browning L&S
Brian Coulter Nursing
Mike Pitterle Pharmacy
Josh Benish Veterinary Medicine
Hope Simon Nelson Institute


Name Department
Phil Hull Enrollment Management
Jim Roberts Business
Lee Konrad GLS
John Krogman DoIT
Jim Roberts Athletics
Jeff Shokler Academic Advising
Argyle Wade Division of Student Life
Peter Weil Communications
Name Department
Bobby Burrow VCA/FP&M/Athletics
James Werner UWPD
Steve Carrola Business Svcs
Theresa Regge UHS
Sathish Gopalrao Housing
Judi Benade Wisconsin Union

Partners, Ex Officio Members

Name Department
Wayne Utke UW Extension ICS
Jocelyn DeWitt UW Health
Frank Ace UW Foundation
Michele Castro UW Foundation