University of Wisconsin–Madison

Service Management Advisory Group

The Service Management Advisory Group (SMG) is an advisory group with the primary charge to provide depth and insight regarding the proposals received by the EITDM Office that are passed on to the Planning and Executive Boards for decisions.

The Group reviews all project proposals that may impact IT infrastructure on campus and collaborates to develop recommendations on “solutioning” and impact.

Meeting structure

The Service Management Advisory Group meets weekly.


Members perform a multiplicity of roles. The following outlines expectations.

  • An advisory role to the Planning and Executive boards, providing recommendations for project proposal solutioning.
  • An awareness role understanding the current campus project and IT architecture landscape to be used when considering project proposal solutioning.
  • Leadership and representational roles representing assigned campus areas when analyzing project proposals and reaching out to IT contacts for input.
  • A communication role to share project proposal ideas either on behalf of or to their representational areas and also to share feedback with the SMG.


Name Division Role
Don Nelson Information Technology Meeting Chair, EITDM Office
Amy Gee Information Technology Meeting Co-Chair, EITDM Office
Bruce Maas Information Technology Managing Sponsor, Office of the CIO
Steve Van Der Weide School of Business Member, School/College IT Representative
David Towers School of Medicine and Public Health Member, School/College IT Representative
Greg Putnam College of Letters and Science Member, School/College IT Representative
Dean Winger School of Education Member, School/College IT Representative
Elizabeth Harris College of Engineering Member, School/College IT Representative
Alan Ng Division of Continuing Studies Member, School/College IT Representative
Phil Hull Enrollment Management Member, Domain Specialist
John Ford Information Technology Member, Domain Specialist
Lee Konrad General Library Member, Domain Specialist
Eric Giefer Law School Member, Domain Specialist
Chris Holsman Information Technology Member, IT Chief Operating Officer Delegate
J.J. Du Chateau Information Technology Member, Enterprise Architect
Mark Nessel Information Technology Member, Enterprise Operations Specialist
TBA Member, Financial Expert
TBA Member, Administrative Expert
Karen Hansen Information Technology Consultant, Project Management Office
TBA Information Technology – Business Analyst Recommendation Coordinator