

# Accessible Technology Advisory Group (ATAG) Charter

# **Purpose of This Charter**

This annually reviewed charter defines the mission, guiding principles, membership, and role/responsibilities for the **Accessible Technology Advisory Group (ATAG)**, formerly the Digital Accessibility Campus Advisory Group (DACAG). This charter outlines the direction of this advisory group in the context of digital accessibility on campus.

### **Authorization to Operate**

The following individuals have authorized the ATAG and serve as its executive sponsors.

Name	Title
Lois Brooks	Chief Information Officer

Table 1: Sponsors of the Accessible Technology Advisory Group

#### Mission of ATAG

Under the <u>Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990</u> and the <u>Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 504</u>, campuses are required to ensure the digital accessibility of all electronic (EIT) and communication technologies (ICT). The mission of the ATAG is to assist the university with elevating and promoting campus capacity to create and sustain an accessible digital campus.

As part of a larger effort to improve accessibility on campus, ATAG will partner with campus to act as a resource or referral for areas of accessible technology design and usage, and a referral resource for other areas of accessibility that may go beyond this group's capacity.

The group will also facilitate the formation of the community of practice and foster campus engagement in accessibility collaboration and education.

#### **Strategic Goals**

This mission will be supported by pursuing the following strategic goals in partnership with the Center for User Experience.

 Forming and leading a community of liaisons that will serve as the mechanism for sharing and promoting best practices across campus.



- Be a voice of campus that informs strategic decisions by collecting data on campus accessibility complaints, needs, tools, and processes to synthesize areas of need for accessibility support.
- Provide guidance and influence digital accessibility strategic priorities and policies for campus.

# **Expectations & Commitment**

#### **Co-Chairs**

Co-chairs are appointed by the sponsors and will serve a two-year term before a new co-chair is chosen, or term renewal is appointed. The co-chairs will provide semi-annual updates to the sponsors regarding group activities.

#### **Ex Officio Members**

Ex Officio members consist of the ADA Coordinator and Director of the Center for Digital Accessibility & User Experience. Ex officio members are invited to attend monthly group meetings. Ex officio members help to promote collaboration between ATAG, the Center for User Experience, and the Office of Compliance.

### **Sponsors**

The sponsor consists of the Chief Information Officer (CIO). Sponsors are provided semi-annual updates from the co-chairs.

#### **Team Members**

Broad campus representation is needed to ensure this group is an adequate voice of campus. ATAG members will be representative of a prominent constituency of campus and serve for no fewer than two years with option for continuation on the committee. Members are expected to commit to group participation on average of once a month. If you are unable to attend at least half the meetings a year, reach out to the co-chairs for coordination of an additional representative from your area of campus.

New members are approved by the ATAG co-chairs in consultation with ATAG members based on campus constituency representation. Members are encouraged to be or develop into resident experts or knowledgeable advocates of one or more of the following areas:

- Inclusive design
- Web accessibility or other aspects of digital accessibility



- Procurement and contracting
- Web development or design
- Content creation / marketing / communication
- Academic / Instructional design and technology
- IT Infrastructure
- Endpoint management and desktop support

# 2020 Accessible Technology Advisory Group (ATAG)

#### **Co-chairs**

- Al Nemec Web Services Manager, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences Information Technology
- Jessie Nemec Web Developer, Shared Development Group, General Library System
- Elizabeth Richardson Web Developer, Application Infrastructure Services, DoIT
- Bridget Whelan Web Communications Specialist, Law School

### **Ex Officio Members**

- Phyllis Treige, Director Center for Digital Accessibility & User Experience
  Sandi Arendalkowski, UX Accessibility Architect, Center for User Experience
- Ruben Mota, ADA Coordinator; Office of Compliance

## Membership

Membership list maintained within Advisory Group shared documents.