UW Women In IT

UW Women In IT is dedicated to developing strategies to improve the recruitment, retention and advancement of women working in information technology on campus.

Supported by the Office of the Chief Information Officer, the 450+ member organization holds regular educational and networking events open to all members of campus, often partnering with organizations with similar missions to create the best possible workforce.

Past events

UW–‍Madison WIT, University of Michigan WIT & the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) Women+ in Technology
“Salary Negotiations Panel Event”

Recorded March 15, 2023
Panelist presentation on salary negotiations featuring individual experiences and advice surrounding best practices and strategies.
University of Michigan WIT
BTAA Women+ in Technology

Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) Women+ in Technology
Embrace the Journey

Recorded February 15, 2023
Virtual mini conference and career journey mapping workshop.
BTAA Women+ in Technology

Karen Catlin
“A Fireside Chat on Gender Allyship”

Recorded: October 20, 2021
Better Allies


Rutgers University Women In Technology
Journey through the decades

Recorded June 17, 2021
3 different women and their educational/professional journeys in the technical fields, from the ’70s to the ’90s.

Susanne Tedrick
“Living as a Woman of Color in Tech”

Recorded: June 9, 2021
We Belong In Tech


UW–‍Madison WIT, University of Michigan WIT & the Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) Women+ in Technology
Salary Negotiations Panel Event
Follow up Q&A

March 15, 2023
Panelist answers to additional questions not covered during the live event.



BTAA WIT - Embrace the Journey



Rutgers University- Women In IT Panel

Upcoming events


Our events are often enhanced by help with publicity and co-sponsorship of our generous partners,
including but not limited to:

ACM’s Women in Computing at UW–‍Madison (WACM)
Women in Science & Engineering Leadership Institute (WISELI)
UW–‍Madison Women in Leadership-Coffee & Conversation
UW IT Connects



Mehrnaz Ahmadi Joobaneh (DAPIR)

Amanda Thornton (Space Science & Engineering)

Steering Team

Manda Johnson (COE), Salima Currimbhoy (VCFA), Amy Diestler (SMPH), Suzanne Broadberry (DoIT), Sean Bossinger (School of Veterinary Medicine), Jay Ray (Libraries), Jeanette School (DoIT/ATP), Elizabeth Curran (DoIT), Kim Channpraseut (Enrollment Management/Registrar), Rae Denuiter (DoIT), Priya Sachithanandam (Enrollment Management/Registrar)